Dear Zindagi: Tête-à-Tête with the Bygone Chapters of Life

Dear Zindagi,

I am writing a letter to life for the #DearZindagi activity at BlogAdda

Well as I begin my letter addressing to you, my dear life, a bundle of thoughts keep crowding my mind. You know you haven’t been an easy ride for me. With physical as well as emotional turbulence, financial and professional upheavals, you have been sometimes really rude and cruel to me. But believe me dear life, I have no grudge against you. Neither do I want to slam you nor do I want to rant about you for the past chapters, since I Know that you move on.(Life moves on). Today as I pen down this letter to you, let me tell you how thankful I am.

lg

Life, you know the tears I have shed when my mom used to leave me behind alone at home, locked in a room for her office. No, she wasn’t cruel, it was her helplessness and circumstances that compelled her to do. Zindagi, believe me or not , I thank you now for those past episodes. While sitting by the window and waiting for my parents to return home, I did understand the gifts of waiting. When I was shifted to my grandparents’ place for the sake of a promising convent education, I learnt how to spend the most crucial moments of life without parents. And zindagi you made me tougher and determined enough to combat more hassling situations in life.

 

You have sometimes been extremely kind to me. Remember, when I came to know about my little brother who was soon going to be born? Well, how excited I was at that point of time. I knew it how you are going to treat me with a sibling who will be my partner in crime. Though, fortunately I gained much more than I expected.

You carved the best out of me. It was at a tender age of 11 years I almost developed all motherly qualities by looking after my brother. Yes Zindagi you have been a teacher at every point in life. In fact when in standard 8 I came across those lines of Shakespeare, “All the world’s a stage/ And all the men and women are merely players”, these lines really didn’t synchronize into my mind, but as I grew older I learnt how fantastically Shakespeare could predict things.

I am aged 29 now Zindagi, as you know and these 29 years of life have indeed been a journey tossing and swaying in the fluctuating waves of life. I had discovered love in my life a couple of times, but Zindagi you, like a true teacher made me realize that every romantic affair is not destined to be an outcome of true love.

lg4

 

I have gone through a series of stoop downs, heartbreaks and pangs of frustration. But I don’t complain Zindagi and you know the reason why. You have gifted me the complete colors of life now. As I got married, I realized that how important it was for me to go through those heartbreaks just in order to understand the depth of true love. A loving partner, a cute little child and a promising career in what my passion lies, writing are undoubtedly things very few can look forward to.

lg3

I thank you Zindagi for being beside me, in my times of trauma, letting me be my own best friend. Beautiful Zindagi, I have learnt to discover happiness in the small moments of life, my child’s smile, a happy client’s appreciating nod, a stranger’s word of thanks and my loving partner’s hug are the things you gift me almost every day. A small sacrifice, an inch of compromise just to lighten up a gloomy mind are the pleasures that have their own moments of joy. And thus I totally agree with the visual clips portrayed by Shahrukh Khan’s upcoming film “Dear Zindagi”.

 

Zindagi, now I stand with you, happy and satisfied and waiting for the upcoming years of life to be equally worth cherishing. Till then, Sayonara and I end my letter with these lines from Ella Wheeler Willcox’s “As You Go Through Life”

Don’t look for the flaws as you go through life;
And even when you find them,
It is wise and kind to be somewhat blind
And look for the virtue behind them.
For the cloudiest night has a hint of light
Somewhere in its shadows hiding;
It is better by far to hunt for a star,
Than the spots on the sun abiding.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

